Rendezvous Musical avec Pierre Fournier

Rendezvous Musical avec Pierre Fournier

Media Type: VINYL x2
Performer: Pierre Fournier (cello), Lamar Crowson (Piano)
Label: Analogphonic

+ Description

● From the original masters of Universal Music ● Audiophile analogue mastering by Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios. ● 180g audiophile virgin vinyl pressed by Pallas GmbH in Germany ● 45 rpm / 2 records version for enhanced sound reproduction ● Special bonus track included—Unreleased recording from same session. RECORDING INFORMATION Recorded at München Plenar-Saal der Akademie der Wissenschaften 8-10, Jan, 1969 Producer : Karl Faust Ton-Meister : H Wildhagen Edit :H. Reiser Fournier’s tone is a constant delight, warmly lyrical yet with a plangent edge that does wonders for the more pleading episodes of Dvořak’s Rondo — a work written for the cello, and making the fact very clear. His phrasing is beautifully shapely in cantabile. And when scurrying around in Francoeur’s Allegro vivo, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Bumble-bee and Pop-per’s Elfentanz, he brings a bite to the accentuation which keeps the rhythm both tingling and disciplined. The Weber is a pleasant surprise, but I particularly enjoyed the Dvořak, the Schumann (meant for the horn but with cello as an op-tional alternative) and the Brahms... Brhams’s particular brand of deep-hued sentiment is wholly at one with the soul of the cello. – Gramophone

+ Tracks

Side 1
1. Adagio Cantabile • Allegro Vivo (Francoeur)
2. Tempo di Minuetto (Haydn)
3. Larghetto • Rondo (Weber)
4. Nocturne Op. 9 Nr. 2 (Chopin)
Side 2
1. Hymne An Die Sonne (Rimski-Korssakoff)
2. Hummelflug (Rimski-Korssakoff)
3. Adagio Und Allegro Op. 70 (Schumann)
Side 3
1. Ave Maria (Méditation) (Gounod)
2. Valse Sentimentale Op. 51 Nr. 6 (Tschaikowsky)
3. Feldeinsamkeit Op. 86 Nr. 2 (Brahms)
4. Elfentanz Op. 39 (Popper)
5. Rondo Op. 94 (Dvořák)
Side 4
1. Der Schwan (Saint-Saëns)
2. Variationen Über Ein Thema Aus Der Oper »Moses« (Paganini)
3. Pezzo Cappriccioso op.62 (Tschaikowsky) - Bonus track (Previously Unreleased)

Add To Cart