Nathan Davis & Georges Arvanitas Trio: Live in Paris

Nathan Davis & Georges Arvanitas Trio: Live in Paris

Media Type: VINYL x3
Performer: Nathan Davis, (sax), Georges Arvanitas (p, org), Jack Diéval (p), Jacky Samson, Jacques Hess (b), Franco Manzecchi, Charles Saudrais (dr)
Genre: JAZZ
Label: Sam Records

+ Description

"Live in Paris" Style is not a given. Not many musicians reach the level of artistic personality where you can unmistakably recognize them. It takes character, roots, honesty, soulfulness. Nathan Davis had style. His tone on tenor was unique. So was his soprano sound and his distinctive approach to flute. His musical world was equally original and knew no boundaries. This concert in Paris is audible proof that as a performer, his fluid phrasing, distinct articulation, booming bottom register, growls and shrieks were fuelled by tremendous drive and furious invention - the man was on fire! These live sessions demonstrate the limitless invention of Nathan’s solos. Holding no punches, weaving signature phrases, shouts and riffs into his solos, he was a fierce and fervid performer. With a sort of hollow resonance at the heart of his reedy and warm sound, Nathan Davis was a highly original artist, from an era when having a distinct sound on your instrument was the grail of jazz artistry. Harold Land, Jimmy Heath, John Gilmore, Paul Gonsalves, Charlie Rouse, George Coleman, Booker Ervin, Clifford Jordan ... Jazz is made of such giants and Nathan Davis was one of them.

+ Tracks

A1 The Hip Walk 9:21
A2 Yesterdays (Flute version) 8:40
B1 A5 10:39
B2 Nathalie's Bounce 10:17
C1 Love Ye The Neighbor 12:43
C2 Mid Evil Dance 9:53
D1 The Rules Of Freedom 12:15
D2 The Thing 13:19
E1 Yesterdays (Sax version) 14:05
E2 Blues For Southeast Asia 10:15

Add To Cart