Afro-Cuban All Stars: Baila Mi Son

Afro-Cuban All Stars: Baila Mi Son

Media Type: VINYL x1
Performer: Juan de Marcos Gonzalez (dir), Felix Baloy, Teresa Garcia Caturla (voc), Javier Zalba (bs), Yanko Pizaco, Daniel “El Gordo” Ramos (tr), Alberto “Molote” Munoz, Antonio Sesma (tb), David Alfaro/ (p), Ricardo Munoz (b), Rolando “El Nino” Salgado (perc), a.o.
Genre: JAZZ
Label: Pure Pleasure

+ Description

Rich and rhythmic, sparkling and seductive, Felix Baloy's voice marks him as one of Cuba's very finest soneros. This magnificent performance showcases a true artist at the peak of his profession, backed by the thrilling arrangements of Juan de Marcos and the peerless Afro Cuban All Stars. Felix Baloy has been singing for more than 40 years which means he has waited a long time to make his first solo album. One of Cuba's outstanding soneros with a unique timbre, the opportunity came about after he met Tumi Music founder Mo Fini in Havana in 1995 when Baloy sang on the label's splendid four CD set "Las Leyendas de la Musica Cubana" as part of the Cuban All Stars with Orquesta Amèrica. There's an absolute joy about this record, and Baloy proves himself worthy of all the praise that's been heaped on him in Cuba, as capable of gliding through the cha cha of "Van a Bailar el Cha Cha Cha," with its prim strings, as the rawer bolero of "El Mal de la Hipocresia." The arrangements frame his voice wonderfully, too, as on the rich bolero cha of "Los Es Todo Tu Amor," with its glistening flute solo. Baloy does himself proud, and Gonzalez gives him a band to remember behind him, some crystal clear production, and songs any singer would love to sing. Nigh on perfect. Recording: 2000 in ICAIC Studios and DM Ahora Studios, Havana, Cuba, by Alain Martinez de la Torre / Production: Juan de Marcos Gonzalez

+ Tracks

A1 Baila Mi Son
A2 Mami Te Gusto
A3 Yo Soy El Del Sentimiento
A4 Despues De Esta Noche
A5 El Mal De La Hipocresia

B1 Ven A Bailar Cha Cha Cha
B2 Cada Vez Que Te Veo
B3 Lo Es Todo Tu Amor
B4 El Son De Baloy
B5 Miseridordia, No Aguanto!

Add To Cart